Ready to Make 2023 Your Best Year Yet?

An orange-colored cocktail in a glass with two mint leaves clipped together to form a heart shape

If so, please join me for the return of one of my favorite workshops!

Your Best Year Yet 2023 is live, online 90-minute guided workshop led by me (financial author/organizer Angele McQuade) to help you reflect on, celebrate, and release 2022; discover your biggest goals and dreams for 2023; and identify all kinds of financial loose ends distracting you from your truest joy.

Are you a woman who…

  • Feels like you should have some way of reflecting over the past year as you set intentions for this new year, but still aren’t sure where to start?
  • Feels disappointed by how much you didn’t get finished in 2022, even though you felt like you were busier than ever?
  • Feels so exhausted by 2022 (and to be honest, 2021 and 2020, too) that you don’t even want to look back?
  • Feels resistance to working on 2023 goals when 2022 still feels unfinished?
  • Feels embarrassed to dream big dreams, because who are you to be allowed to want those kinds of things, anyway?
  • Is eager to celebrate your 2022 successes and accomplishments but could use some help remembering exactly what they were?
  • Yearns for some hope, some sense there’s something in your control, even when your home and work life and the world in general seem to be spinning out of control?

We live in a world that’s exhausting on so many levels, where the push to go go go never seems to stop. Not giving yourself the time and space to deeply reflect, celebrate, and dream big dreams can leave you feeling unseen, deflated, adrift.

  • You deserve celebration, even if you feel like you didn’t accomplish nearly enough. (Guess what—you probably did a lot more than you’re giving yourself credit for!)
  • You deserve recognition for all you did accomplish, even if no one else gives it to you.
  • You deserve time and space dedicated solely to discovering what you most want and need in 2023.
  • You deserve a few minutes to yourself to uncover what’s really weighing you down, decide what you want to do about it, and find support to make that happen.

Your Best Year Yet 2023 is an invitation to dream big, to find inspiration and direction. It’s also an opportunity to think small, by identifying the tiny needlepricks of all those little things (especially the money-related ones) you’ve been needing to get done for so long. Wouldn’t it feel great to lift the overwhelm of the unknown by finding clarity in what needs to be done now, and the closure of recognizing what you can safely let go of forever?

Sign up here…

Your Best Year Yet 2023 is a live, 90 minute guided session for women and non-binary people, filled with introspective questions and prompts that will give you time and space to…

  • Review and reflect on your 2022 to help you discover what you loved about your year, what you wish had been different, and what you’ve already started to create that you can continue to build on this coming year
  • Set inspiring new goals and dream big dreams (especially financial ones) for 2023
  • Share—if you want—and refine your personal, professional, and especially your financial 2023 goals and dreams with other women yearning for the same clarity and support
  • Ask me any questions that might help you start working toward your financial goals and dreams even faster

By the end of Your Best Year Yet, you’ll feel proud of all the 2022 successes and accomplishments you’ve identified and be closer to letting go of any still-lingering regrets or disappointment. You’ll also feel lighter after casting off the weight of uncertainty and overwhelm thanks to identifying your most nagging loose ends, and you’ll leave inspired for 2023 thanks to your new list of goals and dreams, plus concrete steps to turn them into reality.

Sign up here…

Your Best Year Yet 2023 will be offered live in a private Zoom group one-time session lasting approximately 90 minutes. Choose one session from the following available times:

Thursday, January 19, 2023 at 9 a.m. Eastern/8 a.m. CT/7 a.m. MT/6 a.m. PT

Thursday, January 19, 2023 at 8:30 p.m. Eastern/7:30 p.m. CT/6:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. PT

Friday, January 20, 2023 at 12 p.m. Eastern/11 a.m. CT/10 a.m. MT/9 a.m. PT

Saturday, January 21, 2023 at 6 p.m. Eastern/5 p.m. CT/4 p.m. MT/3 p.m. PT

Sunday, January 22, 2023 at 10 a.m. Eastern/9 a.m. CT/8 a.m. MT/7 a.m. PT

Sunday, January 22, 2023 at 3 p.m. Eastern/2 p.m. CT/1 p.m. MT/noon PT

In honor of all the promise this new year holds, the cost of this live, online 90-minute guided session of Your Best Year Yet 2023 is only $23. To ensure the privacy of all attendees, sessions will NOT be recorded and there will be no replays available if you are unable to attend live. The purchase price of this workshop is non-refundable. If you are unable to attend live, you may reschedule to a later session if one is still available (24 hours’ notice required).

Sign up here…

Why choose me to work with?

I’m a money expert who has published two financial books (including Investment Clubs for Dummies), with a third on the way in mid-2023. I’ve been a monthly columnist for BetterInvesting magazine for more than 20 years and have taught on financial topics (including the deep connection between money and creativity) online and at live events across the United States. I also do financial organizing for private clients and am about to launch a new nine-week financial accountability “let’s get your taxes ready” group program with 70+ hours of live, guided co-work and financial Q&A sessions held during February, March, and April. (Other 2023 guided accountability programs will focus on finalizing your estate planning, tidying up money-related loose ends, and general financial organizing.)

Beyond those professional qualifications, I’ve managed my own family’s finances and investments over the decades through years both tight and fruitful. Wherever you are right now—whether that’s helping your parents with their finances; juggling college savings and other expenses for your kids; exploring life on your own or as an empty-nester; figuring out the best investment strategies for your retirement; dealing with moving, job loss, divorce, or other major life transitions; struggling with fixed costs that are more than you can afford; looking at unexpected money you’re not sure what to do with (and maybe feel a little guilty for having when others have less); starting a new business; dreaming big dreams you’re not sure you deserve—I’ve probably been somewhere similar, and I’d love to help you dream, plan, and make your way through it.

Ready to join me? You’ll find all the details to sign up here

Advertisement

Join Angele for a free BetterInvesting webinar on using financial podcasts in your investment education on September 25, 2021!

BetterInvesting columnist Angele McQuade’s
May 2020 cover story on financial podcasts

Financial podcasts can be an unexpectedly entertaining way to learn more about personal finance and investing from a wide variety of voices and perspectives. Join BetterInvesting’s “Book Value” columnist and financial author Angele McQuade online on Saturday, September 25 at 10 a.m. ET for an overview of many of her personal favorite financial podcasts, plus an opportunity to share your own favorites with everyone, too!

Register online for this free webinar, Invest in Your Education with Financial Podcasts, presented by the Maryland Chapter of BetterInvesting. There was not nearly enough room for Angele to mention all of her own favorite financial podcasts in her May 2020 cover story in BetterInvesting magazine, so she’ll be sharing a handout with an even bigger (and newly updated!) list during this live event.

It’s A Two-Conference October for Me!

If you’re in the mood to come hear me speak (and why wouldn’t you be?), you’ve got two (TWO!) opportunities this month, lucky you.

JRW Conference LogoI’ll be at the 15th annual James River Writers conference in Richmond, VA Oct 13 – 15, 2017 giving a two-hour Cash & Creativity: How Cleaning Up Your Finances Can Spark New Creative Success master class on Friday, and joining in on panels during the conference itself both Saturday and Sunday. Registration is still open, but you’d better act fast!

 

MidAtl-BannerTwo weeks later, I’ll be presenting a special three-hour, expanded version of Cash & Creativity as an intensive the day before SCBWI Mid-Atlantic’s annual conference in Dulles, Virginia. The intensives will be held Friday, October 27, and the conference itself is on Saturday, October 28.

I hope to see you at one or both of these events – let me know if you’re coming! And if you’d like to find out about future events as soon as they’re added to my calendar, sign up for my newsletter and I promise you’ll be first to hear.

 

 

Come join me at the James River Writers Conference in October!

JRW Conference LogoAfter waiting months to share this exciting news, I’m beyond thrilled to announce I’ll be presenting a Cash & Creativity: How Cleaning up Your Finances Can Spark New Creative Success master class at the James River Writers 2017 Conference on Friday, October 13 in Richmond, Virginia!

The list of conference speakers and master classes plus all the registration details just went up online  – I’m so honored to be included in this stellar group of writers (including the brilliant Meg Medina, one of my all-time faves) and industry professionals.

Hope to see you on Friday for my master class, and throughout the weekend at the main conference, too!

Announcing new Cash & Creativity private online classes!

You–yes, you!–and your friends and colleagues are all warmly invited to be a part of Cash & Creativity: How Cleaning Up Your Finances Can Spark New Creative Success, a private three-week online class taught by Angele McQuade, author of INVESTMENT CLUBS FOR DUMMIES and monthly columnist for Better Investing magazine.

Course Description: If you wish you could earn more from your writing or you’ve been feeling stuck in creative quicksand, the problem might not be your writing, but how you deal with money. Uncertainty or fear about your finances—regardless of your net worth—can shut down your creativity in unexpected ways.

This three-week online, interactive course will help you uncover the truth about your finances, tie up energy-draining financial loose ends, and learn simple, more effective ways to organize and manage your money. You’ll then use similar strategies to tie up your creative loose ends, prioritize your projects, and craft a reimagined vision for your writing career.

With help from written lessons, handouts, homework assignments, and personalized feedback and support from your instructor, you’ll finish the class with a clear picture of your current finances, new strategies for keeping your financial life organized going forward, and a plan for taking enthusiastic, dedicated action toward both your creative and financial goals.

When: a three-week period scheduled at your group’s convenience

Where:  in a private online forum (exact details to be decided by each group

Cost: $125 per student for the three-week class
Payment may be made by credit card through PayPal (2.9% PayPal fee will be added) or by check. This class should qualify as a tax-deductible business educational expense for any writer/creative professional, and receipts will be provided for this purpose.

Course Logistics: This course will take place in a private forum online. Lessons and exercises will be posted daily, and students can read/respond at any time.

To arrange a private class, please email  Angele (angelemcquadeauthor@gmail.com)  for detailed schedule, payment, and class enrollment information. There is an 18 student minimum and 35 student maximum for private classes. Payment must be made in full before the class begins and is non-refundable. All class lessons and materials will be sent by email to any student who registers but is later unable to participate.

Angele is also available to teach Cash & Creativity at your RWA, SCBWI, MWA, SinC, SFWA, ASJA, or other writing group event, or as part of your organization’s own online educational program. She also speaks to investment clubs, financial organizations, small businesses, and corporations, and at personal finance and other events with a version of her Cash & Creativity workshop focused on sparking new success in careers outside of writing.
Praise from some of 2016’s students:

“So different from the other classes, and because of that, so refreshing!!!”
“Very impressive talk. I enjoyed the class and learned a lot.”
“Thank you for engaging your audience with the simple exercises. Very thought-provoking!”
“Excellent format.”
“Very powerful words. Great info! Thank you!”

About the instructor: Angele McQuade is the author of two books about investing, including INVESTMENT CLUBS FOR DUMMIES, and has been a monthly columnist for Better Investing magazine for more than fifteen years. She’s taught Cash & Creativity and other classes about personal finance, writing, and creativity across the United States and in Berlin, Germany, and presented at both RWA’s and BINC’s national conferences in 2016.
Angele also writes novels for children and young adults, and is a member of SCBWI, RWA, WRW, YARWA, and the Authors Guild. She is represented by Jennifer Laughran of the Andrea Brown Literary Agency. You can find Angele online at www.angelemcquade.com and on Twitter at @angelemcquade.

It’s San Diego time, baby!

RWA2016

Tomorrow at noon, I’ll be hopping on Amtrak’s Surfliner and riding the rails down the coast to San Diego, where I’ll be attending the Romance Writers of America (RWA)’s annual national conference for the very first time.

On Wednesday, you can find me hanging out with my fellow young adult writers at YARWA’s Day of YA (check out this fabulous line up!). Thursday through Saturday, I’ll be keeping busy choosing from dozens of educational workshops taught by some truly amazing writers. And on Friday,  I’m beyond honored to be teaching a workshop of my own!

If you’ll be in San Diego, too, please come hear me present  Cash & Creativity: How Cleaning Up Your Finances Can Spark New Creative Success on Friday, July 15th at 11 am in Pacific Ballroom 14.

It probably goes without saying, but this California girl is fully way stoked to be back in her home state. See you in San Diego!

Cash & Creativity: Registration is now open for my new online class!

If you’d like to explore the surprising relationship between your money and your writing  (or art, photography, music, any creative endeavor), please join me in my new three-week online class, Cash & Creativity: How Cleaning Up Your Finances Can Spark New Creative Success, starting on Monday, May 9th.

Registration is now open through YARWA, the YA chapter of Romance Writers of America. (Scroll down for class description and registration button.) This class is open to both YARWA members and the general public. Hope to see you there!

May 2016: Cash & Creativity: How Cleaning Up Your Finances Can Spark New Creative Success

About the course
If you wish you could earn more from your writing or you’ve been feeling stuck in creative quicksand, the problem might not be your writing, but how you deal with money. Uncertainty or fear about your finances—regardless of your net worth—can shut down your creativity in unexpected ways.

This three-week course will help you uncover the truth about your finances, tie up energy-draining financial loose ends, and learn simple, more effective ways to organize and manage your money. You’ll then use similar strategies to tie up your creative loose ends, prioritize your projects, and craft a re-imagined vision for your writing career.

By the end of this course, you should have a clear picture of your current finances, new strategies for keeping your financial life organized going forward, and a plan for taking enthusiastic, dedicated action toward both your creative and financial goals.

About the Instructor:
About the instructor: Angele McQuade is the author of two books about investing, including INVESTMENT CLUBS FOR DUMMIES, and has been a monthly columnist for Better Investing magazine for more than fifteen years. She’s taught classes about personal finance, writing, and creativity across the United States and in Berlin, Germany. Angele also writes novels for children and young adults, and is a member of SCBWI, RWA, WRW, and YARWA. She is represented by Jennifer Laughran of the Andrea Brown Literary Agency. You can find Angele online at www.angelemcquade.com and on Twitter at @angelemcquade.

Register HERE.